Chicago Cutlery Knives & Knife Sets Review: How Good Can They Be?

By Ryan Leavitt •  Updated: 12/26/20 •  9 min read

Are you seeking to make precise cuts of vegetables, meats, fruits, and other foods in your kitchen?

Then a set of Chicago cutlery knives could help you.

The sets often feature ergonomic handles.

And the knives can provide you with the right weight and balance for both your home-based and pro kitchen needs as well.

But the problem is, there are a lot of them to choose from.

And it might be a daunting task just to figure out which one would fit you the most.

So, that’s why I wrote this short review and presented only the best Chicago Cutlery knives and knife sets for you with their own pros and cons.

Hopefully, after reading this review, you would be able to pick up one.

Sounds good?

Let’s dive right in.

Best Chicago Cutlery Knives & Knife Sets (Updated List)

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/16/2022 01:55 am GMT

Related:

Reviews of the Best Products

Belden High-Carbon Stainless Steel Knife (Best Overall)

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/16/2022 01:55 am GMT

The Belden 15-piece comprises the following knives (all in a cherry woodblock):

The blades are made using high-carbon stainless steel. They are hard and have robust edges for durability, precise cutting, and easy re-sharpening.

The knife set also features a forged design that increases weight while enhancing balance with the full-metal tang.

The Belden High-Carbon features a sleek and ultra-modern style. It comes paired with a forged bolster for providing balance and better control when it comes to the handles.

These products are designed with an exclusive 25 degrees Taper Grind edge. This feature ensures optimum sharpness straight from the box. It also makes the blades easier to reshape.

Our scores:

Pros

Cons

Malden 16 Piece Knife Block Set (2nd Runner-up)

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/18/2022 02:33 am GMT

This 16 contemporary piece set is among the best knife sets the brand can offer.

It comes with the following products:

Besides, it also comes with shears, a chopping assist, and an ebony-colored wood block.

The set features contoured stainless-steel handles. This makes it a sleek and current design that perfectly fits in your hand.

High-carbon stainless steel handles are resistant to pit, staining, and rust. Consequently, they are highly durable.

The quality model is the 25-Degree taper grind edge. It is ideal for precise cutting and has optimum sharpness straight from the box.

Additionally, its forge design increases weight while enhancing balance. The full metal tang makes the knifes healthy, balanced, and easy to control.

The black finish ash woodblock ensures your products are secure. Besides, it also has an inbuilt sharpener for simple and convenient sharpening.

Our scores:

Pros

Cons

Insignia Guide Grip 18-Piece Knife Set (Best for Beginners)

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/16/2022 02:38 pm GMT

This set includes:

It features a patented guided Grip design that naturally ensures a pinch grip. Additionally, the contoured stainless handles comfortably fit into your hands.

The set is also designed with high-carbon stainless steel, making it stronger and hard to pit, rust or stain.

The forged design and full metal tang provide added Wight, balance, and easy control.

The set also comes with a natural Acacia woodblock that keeps them secure, not to mention it also has an in-built sharpener for easy and convenient sharpening.

The product can best be used by professional chefs looking to use the pinch grip.

Our scores:

Pros

Cons

Essentials Stainless Steel Knife Block Set (Best for Control)

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/18/2022 02:34 am GMT

This Essentials 15 piece set comprises the following knives:

The blades are of high-carbon stainless steel for precise cutting. The edge is robust and hardened for durability.

They are razor-sharp right from the box, hence ready for use.

They also feature a full metal tang design that adds balance and strength and makes them easy to control.

Their design includes triple stainless steel rivets for securing the handles to ensure added safety and stability.

Our scores:

Pros

Cons

Metropolitan High-Carbon Blade Block Knife Set (Best for Durability)

This model offers you excellent value and precision.

The set features the following knives:

The blades are of high-carbon stainless steel to resist pitting, staining, and rusting. They also feature an exclusive 25 degrees Taper Grind edge that guarantees optimal sharpness.

The triple-riveted polymer handles provide an ergonomic grip. Moreover, the metal tang offers robustness, balance, and easy control for precise cuts.

Our scores:

Pros

Cons

ProHold Dual Knife Block Set (Best for Anti-Stickiness)

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/16/2022 02:02 am GMT

The Pro Hold set features a non-stick coating that looks great. The coating also avoids food from sticking on the blade while preparing or having dinner.

The set features the following knives:

They feature an ergonomic design and a slip-resistant textured handle that allows you total control. The handle design also encourages the right holding position, which leaves you feeling like a pro chef.

The ProHold dual wood knife guarantees versatility as it nests within each other. Hence, it is easy to detach or access the steak knives when you have company.

Our scores:

Pros

Cons

Fusion 17 Piece Knife Block Set (Best for Sharpness)

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/16/2022 02:02 am GMT

The 17 piece knife block set features a paddled, non-slipping grip to make your cooking fun.

This set features the following:

The set comes fitted with high-carbon stainless steel that makes them rust-free.

They are also harder and more robust. Moreover, they can resist stains and corrosion.

This model also features a 26-degrees taper-grind edge, which is ultra-sharp for precise cutting. The edge is also very easy to re-sharpen.

The forged design increases weight and helps in balancing. Moreover, the chop asset tool guides the knife while chopping. Boost your safety by storing the blades in the chestnut-stain wood block.

Our scores:

Pros

Cons

FAQ’s

Where does Chicago Cutlery make their knives?

These knives are made in China.

Do these knives come with a warranty?

All knives come from the brand are warranted as free from defects.

Which is the best way of cleaning these knives?

Carefully hand wash with soapy clothing and dry them immediately. Dishwashing will bang and nick the edges. Detergent can have corrosive effects while soaking the wooden handle removes the natural oils.

How do I best store them?

Store your knives in the hardwood block, which may be included. Storing knives loosely in a drawer will dull the blade, not forgetting it is unsafe while accessing the knife.

How good are they?

Made of high-carbon stainless steel, the knives are ultra-sharp, stronger, and most importantly, resistant to rusting and pitting. You can check out our detailed and in-depth reviews to help you make the decision.

Which steel grade do the knives have?

Chicago cautery knives use the steel 420-J2. Though it is considered low-quality steel, it can achieve a maximum hardness of 54/55 HRC when adequately hardened.

Can I replace one piece of the Chicago Cutlery set?

No. This brand’s products are sold in sets.

Conclusion

If you are looking for the best cutlery knives, look no further. The brand makes some of the best knives that you can trust.

The brand makes both pro and home-based knives for prepping food. We have reviewed for you the best sets from this brand. We have provided you with in-depth details that may help to make an informed purchase.

Use our easy-to-follow review to get yourself the best deal for your kitchen.

Further reading:

The brand’s official site

5 Tips for Caring for Kitchen Knives: Dos and Don’ts

[toc]

Ryan Leavitt

Hi my name is Ryan Leavitt a Marine Corps Veteran and currently an over the road trucker (Long Haul). I am no expert chef but am enjoying preparing my own meals on the road and testing all the different knives.